Sponsored by:

IC Pump Amps/Suggestion/Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-31-2018, 11:46 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
E55
IC Pump Amps/Suggestion/Questions

Hey everyone, I'm new to the forum, been reading a ton here since I found my E55 project in 1/18 though. It's come a long way.

I'm a perpetual newbie when it comes to electrical engineering, so apologies in advance for any facepalms.

A few questions about IC pump installation proceedure-

1. I haven't seen any info about the benefits of running a battery to the pump's terminals, compared with plugging it in and starting the car to bleed the system. Why not run the car to do it? Seems like a few people do it that way.

2. Will a trickle charger suffice? If so, how many amps are required to run the pump? What happens if you run too few or too many?

I'm leaning toward placing an alligator clip on the positive terminal, with some electrical tape on one side, to keep it off the negative post.

3. It kind of looks like these little circular posts on either side of the Bosch 010 electrical plug are designed to take current? I won't know until I get underneath the car and shift things around, but it seems like it could be pretty easy to tape a wire to each post, and juice it that way.
Attached Thumbnails IC Pump Amps/Suggestion/Questions-20180731_231514.jpg   IC Pump Amps/Suggestion/Questions-20180731_231642.jpg   IC Pump Amps/Suggestion/Questions-20180731_233321.jpg  
Old 08-01-2018, 11:49 AM

Received 28 Likes on 24 Posts
2005 c230
This thread help any?
https://mbworld.org/forums/w211-amg/...ent-notes.html
Old 08-01-2018, 03:53 PM
tw2
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 280 Likes on 231 Posts
2005 E55 AMG, 1991 MR2
Good luck getting wires onto those tiny posts that are very close to each other. Check the link below in my signature. It is very easy to run the pump in car. It is not easy to bleed a pump while you are driving, some people are able to engage the pump while in idle, others not.