W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

supercharger removal

Old 06-15-2018, 10:01 PM

Received 11 Likes on 11 Posts
2006 E55
supercharger removal

i pulled my supercharger two days ago, i want to replace the rear bearings due to noise coming from rear. i am tearing it apart and in the process of changing the gaskets, bearings and new oil. i have taken a TON of pics along the way and continue to do so. once im done i will post the pics with a step by step process of how i did it. i know there may be a few threads with lists of process but i figured why not make one with pics too. im in no hurry but hopefully will have it back on car in about a week. i will include pics of all the parts with numbers that i use as well.

to anyone wanting to remove theirs that may be worried its difficult, it really isnt. before i bought my 06' 55 i never even changed the oil in a car before so i am a newbie to turning wrenches on cars but i am a 20 plus year refrigeration tech so i am somewhat mechanically inclined. to be honest the worst part was the clips as there are 12 years old and wanna break if ya look at them wrong.

i few tips...

1. i have several small cups labeled supercharger, throttle body etc and any screws go in there appropriate cup. less confusion that way.

2. clean as much of the engine around the super charge and fuel injectors as possible first. any debris can and will fall into the cylinders. luckily i was able to suck anything out with a small shop vac.

3. i did pull it by myself. its not that heavy but its the fact the the back is so far away from you it puts all the pressure on your lower back. if ya get a spare set of hands use them. if not just move slow.

4. you dont have to remove the throttle body or the injectors and fuel rail first but i did. i figured every ounce of weight i could remove makes the big lift lighter.