W211 AMG Discuss the W211 AMG's such as the E55 and the E63

Diagnostic tools needed for a DIYer

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-18-2020, 03:14 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
mazda miata
Diagnostic tools needed for a DIYer

I'm looking at getting an e63 AMG with ~200k miles. I have a good amount of DIY experience and access to a lift, but I'm no expert by any means. Most of my cars have been pretty mechanically simple for the most part. E36 M3, FRS, GX470, 350z, and Miata. So this is going to be my first "high tech" car. I saw a sticky on using a module called "star" to lower the car..... not sure what that's about and haven't found a formal introduction to it.

Do y'all recommend a specific scan tool or anything for general stuff aside from an OBD reader? If so, how much would they cost?

Thanks in advance!
Old 11-18-2020, 05:06 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 252 Likes on 207 Posts
2006 CLS55 AMG, 2005 SLK 350 AMG
Originally Posted by FastDentist
I'm looking at getting an e63 AMG with ~200k miles. I have a good amount of DIY experience and access to a lift, but I'm no expert by any means. Most of my cars have been pretty mechanically simple for the most part. E36 M3, FRS, GX470, 350z, and Miata. So this is going to be my first "high tech" car. I saw a sticky on using a module called "star" to lower the car..... not sure what that's about and haven't found a formal introduction to it.

Do y'all recommend a specific scan tool or anything for general stuff aside from an OBD reader? If so, how much would they cost?

Thanks in advance!