MBWorld.org Forums

MBWorld.org Forums (https://mbworld.org/forums/)
-   C219 (https://mbworld.org/forums/c219-174/)
-   -   CLS55 ride quality (https://mbworld.org/forums/c219/473819-cls55-ride-quality.html)

nyc1229 12-11-2012 06:25 PM

CLS55 ride quality

Hi,

Please forgive the double post -- I put this over on the tires board but I think it may get more comments on a model-specific board.

Newbie here, got a 2006 CLS55 with 030 performance package a few months ago. However, I’m finding the ride quality to be a bit too harsh for my taste and I’m wondering what steps I can take to improve it. I love the engine, build quality, and looks of the car, so I’m going to keep it – trading it for a Lexus or whatever is not an option.

When I bought it, my CLS55/030 had aftermarket 20x9 and 20x11 wheels (3-piece, unknown brand) with 245/35/20 and 305/25/20 Hankook V12 tires. I’m told by a local wheel guy that those sizes are mismatched, either the front should be 255/30/20 or else the back should be 295/30/20. The sidewall height is noticeably different between front and rear. The dealer noted that the car had been lowered with washers on the Airmatic – I had them reverse everything, so I think the suspension is back to stock.

The ride is a bit busy on regular surface streets & freeways (California), and some sharper jolts over expansion joints, potholes etc. It’s not awful, but I want to try to smooth it out more. I don’t want to mess with the suspension, just seeing what improvement can be made with wheels/tires alone.

As I see it, there are several steps that I could take:

0. Do nothing

1. Reduce air pressure in tires (but it’s already at 33psi all around, going any lower I think might give excessive tire wear or heating)

2. Replace rear tires to increase sidewall height to be comparable to front