C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

C240 Base Custom Sub Installation.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-15-2014, 09:11 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2004 Mercedes Benz C240
C240 Base Custom Sub Installation.

Hello, I am completely new to this and have no idea what I'm doing. I recently got a box with a 12" sub.

I have a 2004 C240 with base speakers. All I want to do is either only set up the subwoofer or subwoofer with an AMP. I honestly don't need it to be turned up all the way, so if there is a way for me to get this done without buying AMP, that would be great. Is there a tutorial with pictures or something like that for me to follow?

I tried looking through this forum but couldn't find anything specific for C240... And all other models seem to be all different and set ups are really complicated haha

but any feedback is appreciated !!

P.S.

Can anyone maybe recommend me what to buy? I honestly don't even know what to buy hahaha Im not even sure how strong of an AMP i need. My friend said he used 1000W but he had a whole system built there. I only want the SUB with AMP, i have a feeling the BASE speakers will burn

Last edited by artiomso; 07-16-2014 at 03:11 PM.
Old 07-15-2014, 09:19 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2002 C320
I have never seen a sub work worth a hoot without an amp connected to it. Even if you put a crossover on it using a lead from another speaker it won't have enough power to drive a 12" sub. If your car has the Bose system it may already have a sub in the rear deck on the drivers side. Easiest way to tell is look at the speaker grille in the driver side back window and it will say Bose on it if you have that system. I am sure there are others here that can better tell you how to setup what you want than I can.
Old 07-16-2014, 12:29 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 10 Likes on 8 Posts
06 C230 SS 6spd