C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

AUTOMOTIVE GRADE LINUX / IVI PROJECT

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-22-2016, 06:36 PM

Received 48 Likes on 42 Posts
2017 C43 AMG, 2010 C350 4Matic, 9 Motorcycles
AUTOMOTIVE GRADE LINUX / IVI PROJECT

Hey!

This may be wayyyy out in left field to some... I understand a lot of people here are VERY mechanically inclined... I'm a mechanical engineer so I'm with you!

But I recently started a side project for an old 1990 Jeep I'm doing a frame up resto which is basically running a Linux Distro as the infotainment system...
It has to be fairly powerful and very versatile as it will serve as a media centre when myself and the misses go camping/tow the boat and what not.

As I'm going through it I realized it has the potential to be used in my 2010 C350 too if all goes well...

My issue now is I'm torn whether or not to develop my own GUI, or attempt to build AGL (Automotive Grade Linux) which is still in development...

I am having trouble building the AGL distro to test at the moment though..

Does anybody have much experience with Linux/building distro's?

Maybe not something that can be answered on this forum but I figured I would check as there are MANY very intelligent people in our community!

Thanks!!
Old 06-22-2016, 06:40 PM

I would also have no problem giving away source code when I get it finished so I ask you this:

In your PERFECT IVI/Infotainment system, what would you like to see/what do you NEED?

Old 06-22-2016, 09:32 PM

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
14' E63S
I would help since I am not a mechanical engineer but a Computer Engineer. But, it's linux, and you don't need to use linux.

Why does it need to be fairly powerful? I am guessing you will mostly be using it to watch movies, so a Raspberry Pi 2 will do the job to run Full HD content without issues. For a GUI you can always do some research and use a car based XBMC system.