C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

Is Idrive really better than COMMAND?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-08-2013, 01:28 PM

Received 19 Likes on 9 Posts
14 GL550; 14 E63s
Is Idrive really better than COMMAND?

I'm shopping around between MB and BMW for my new ride and it's getting down to splitting hairs at this point. But my question is all these reviews and comparos say the idrive is so much better than COMMAND. Yes the screen is bigger. That's the first thing I always hear. But why else?

I've been using the COMMAND since 2009 and have grown very accustomed to it's pros and cons. I don't really use nav that much, but that is one area where MB is deficient in my opinion. It works great once the destination is entered, but getting to that point is a pain if you don't know the address. Entering the address via voice is easy. But if I want to search for say a starbucks, it's a pain. Is it business, shopping, restaurant, etc.

With Mbrace and the 2013 COMMAND, can you search via your mbrace app and send it to the vehicle? Our 2006 lexus had a very easy search function and would tell you where the closest starbucks was.

I do like how the idrive has 8 programmable buttons which resemble just radio presets. But apparently you can program them to dial a number, go to a destination, etc. by just one click of a button. Pretty cool.

Not too concerned about facebook or twitter or email or surfing the web.

I think the stock MB sound system is better than BMW's for my tastes. I have not compared the B&O. It's a 3700 dollar upcharge in the BMW and I think a 6500-7000 upcharge in the MB!!

Anything else I'm missing?
Old 06-08-2013, 01:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
c63
Originally Posted by Shellbmb