GLK-Class (X204) Produced 2008-2014

HPR BIODIESEL &other dieselgrades

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-19-2015, 05:49 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
GLK250
HPR BIODIESEL &other dieselgrades

Recently in my travels to Maine there was a Fuel Pump listed Ultra Biodiesel.
Today, I received a copy of Truck Trend: There was a very short article about
DIESEL(HPR BIODIESEL : High Performance Renewable Market: California.
and article ebunking the Biodiesel Myth
I have used biodiesel with extreme caution in the past :
I have visited fueling stations selling Biodiesel B20, B100, & the ULTRA LOW SULFUR...
I proceed with caution looking for the word diesel not the color of the pump nozzle.
I am driving a Mercedes GLK250BT not a Ford Power Stroke Diesel 6.7 liter tagged B-20 .
Being a newbie, I play it safe I read the MB manual
and have had one incident of bad diesel at below 20 degrees .

Perhaps another Mercedes Benz Diesel Vehicle owner can provide further insight?Pro & cons beyond the advertised product promise???
Old 05-20-2015, 03:23 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 763 Likes on 529 Posts
W204 C63 Coupe, W166 ML350 BlueTEC, 928GT, C5 Z06 & IS300 race cars, EQE 4Matic+ on order
The GLK 250 requires ultra low sulphur diesel, and only allows up to B5 biodiesel if you're in a bind (and they recommend against it). Anything higher than that will void your warranty at the very least.

Just because a magazine article touts the pros of a particular fuel, it doesn't mean that it's comatible with or safe to use in engines that weren't designed for it.
Old 05-20-2015, 02:34 PM

GLK250
Re: Good Point taken

I downloaded the Official Mercedes Benz Biodiesel Brochure after I wrote my MB WORLD Inquiry.
They state Diesel fuel with up to B5 content according to ULSD specification
ASTM D975 meets Mercedes -Benz approved fuel standards and will not void coverage under Mercedes-Benz New Vehicle Limited Warranty...