M-Class (W164) Produced 2006-2011: ML280CDI, ML320CDI, ML420CDI, ML350, ML500, ML550

Tailgate Lock Malfunction-Has it Happened to You?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-27-2008, 01:26 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 ML350
Exclamation Tailgate Lock Malfunction-Has it Happened to You?

Hey everyone, noob here. Last night I had my tailgate (power) open to load some baggage in at the airport. The lock started making noise for about 3 min straight. Anyways, I attempted to shut the tailgate using the power button like I normally do and it didn't do anything. For some reason the keyfob wouldn't shut it either. So I tried everything, turned on the car, turned it off, locked the car, unlocked it, etc. to no avail. I had to manually shut it. But since the lock was acting weird, it was in the "locked" position and wouldnt engage the hook. The tailgate would just shut enough but there wasnt room enough because the lock wouldnt let it shut all the way. I got in the car and there were 8 error messages: my brake light, tail-light, and trailer lights were out and the substitute bulbs were on and the tailgate being open. I drove home with my hazards on for fear of my trunk opening up and my baggage being strewn across the highway. Also, the fuel gauge doesn't work and I have no idea how much gas I've left so I've just been filling it up intermittently today. Luckily, the dealership will be able to see me today. I'm wondering if this sort of malfunction has ever occurred to anyone else???
Old 05-27-2008, 04:56 PM

Received 11 Likes on 10 Posts
2017 GLC300, 13 PorscheC4S, 12 Porsche Cayman S
Originally Posted by birjuh