SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: Please help me guys: top radiator hose keeps coming off

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-14-2016, 08:24 AM

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
SL65
Please help me guys: top radiator hose keeps coming off

My cars been driving fine up until recently the top radiator hose comes off anytime I put my foot down, seems as if there is too much pressure in the cooling system ( I may be completely wrong) and that is the weakest point in the system to give, the hose has previously blown I could not source a hose or find one in Australia , So i put a temporary pipe with two clamps to fix it which I dont think should be the issue here, but Im no expert maybe it affects it somehow.

Although there are a few strange things which should give someone on here an idea of what it might be, I just cant figure it out! here is what happens before the top hose comes off. When I put my foot down, intermittently the power steer feels as if its lost "power" (hardens up) maybe for a second or two if that, and I hear like a belt noise also happens at the exact same time for a couple seconds, then I look in the rear view mirror and see a mist of water hitting all the cars behind me, which means the top hose has just come off , all these things happen at the same time. Someone should know what is happening.

What I thought was is the water pump seized up , however the water pump was not replaced long ago ,maybe 5000-8000kms ago, I have also completely removed the thermostat previously not sure if this is maybe to blame. The fan runs perfectly fine and is not overheating at all (until the dam hose comes off).

I have taken out the fan, removed the serpentine belt and all pulleys have no play or seem seized at all. My other thoughts on this are the AC compressor clutch is "intermittently" seizing , or the water pump ??? it could also be the tensioner but none of the pulleys seem to be hard or have any play on them.