SL-Class (R230) 2003 -- 2012: Discussion on the SL500, SL550, SL600

SL/R230: ABC high pressure line / Pulsation Dampner

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-04-2016, 12:34 AM

Received 67 Likes on 55 Posts
R230
ABC high pressure line / Pulsation Dampner

Does the high line from the pump get its first pressure adjustment at the Pulsation Dampner?
Could it account for a total front ( both sides ) pressure loss after engine shutdown just in the fronts if all systems up front check out?

Thanks for any replies
Old 08-04-2016, 11:18 PM
MBworld Guru

Received 999 Likes on 868 Posts
NO LONGER ACTIVE
I'm no expert in this, but I'm learning. The output hose from the pump goes first to the front axle valve unit. But, the WIS diagrams show it connecting first to the pressure supply valve, behind the left front wheel. Here's a thread discussing a leak where I posted some docs:

https://mbworld.org/forums/sl-class-...mall-leak.html
Old 08-05-2016, 10:18 AM

R230
Thanks for the reply Rudeney. Might be just me, the thread isn't showing.

From this R230 schematic, the high pressure side shows the Pulsation Damper as the first point of high pressure adjustment that could effect the front (only) to lose pressure and drop when it sits with the engine off.

The following users liked this post:
mirv (08-08-2023)
Old 08-05-2016, 11:08 AM
Banned

Received 387 Likes on 306 Posts
'09 S600, (2) R129 300SLs, '03 SL500, '03 SL55
Originally Posted by Hary Gahtoe
From this R230 schematic, the high pressure side shows the Pulsation Damper as the first point of high pressure adjustment that could effect the front (only) to lose pressure and drop when it sits with the engine off.
The output from the pump first goes to the pressure supply valve unit, as shown on the schematic you posted.