190E (W201) 1982-1993: 190E 2.3, 190E 2.6, 190E 2.3-16, 190E 2.5-16, 190 D 2.2, 190 D 2.5, 190 D 2.5 TURBO, 190E 2.5-16 Evolution I, 190E 2.5-16 Evolution II

Urgent Problem..Weird Stuff

Old 12-14-2012, 01:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
190e
Urgent Problem..Weird Stuff

Hi guys,

Although this is my first time on this site I might have an issue here that might even make the most seasoned Benz veterans here scratch their heads. I bought a 1993 2.3 L, 4 cylinder, 190e a few months back. It has 94k miles on the original motor. Since I owned it, it had an issue with starting when warm. Cold start is really fast generally. Yet the car drives really well once you get it started. Did a complete tune up, changed Oxygen sensor. Then I decided to do a compression test and a leak down test and surprisingly got these results:

1st cyl - 105 lbs; 25 % leak
2nd cyl - 80 lbs; 85 % leak
3rd cyl - 75 lbs; 85% leak
4th cyl - 50 lbs; 85% leak

How could this be possible, given the car runs so well? Some history on the car: owned by an old couple; always dealer-maintained, no major service done to it. It was stored in a barn for about 5 years, by their son, since they passed away. Any way there are just some stuck valves/rings that some good old additives can fix?! Or am I just being delusional here. Could this engine just crap out this soon (94k)?

Any thoughts would sure be appreciated.

S
Old 12-14-2012, 08:23 AM

Received 12 Likes on 12 Posts
'85 190D , '12 E350 BlueTec, '13 GLK 250 BlueTec
As posted and answered on another forum, the problem is your rings are stuck. There were likely no precautions taken when storing the car and either the crud or carbon stuck them.

In order to try to free them, remove the plugs, put a good healthy dose of a solvent in each cylinder, maybe half cup, and let sit at least over night.