Notices
Audio & Electronics Use this forum to discuss audio and electronic upgrades for your Mercedes-Benz.

problem with my amp

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-12-2005, 02:01 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
c-240
problem with my amp

Hi everyone, here is my problem:

6 months ago, I started having problems with my old amp (or so I thought), my subs would come in and out and would not stay on until finally it died. After that, they subs would come on when I turned my system off and on but for only a short period of time. I thought it was my amplifier and not the wiring since after checking, there was still power to the amp. The problem was there was no sound. Being a noob, I thought it was my amp. Therefore I bought the a brand new hifornics 1500d and replaced the old amp keeping all of the wiring in place since both amps have almost the same specs. Well to my dismay, the same thing is happening. There is power to the amp, but there is no sound coming out of the subwoofers. Could it be faulty wiring. Also can you please tell me what the remote lead wire exactly does? I wired the subs to a stock Mercedes 2002 system if that helps.
Old 05-12-2005, 02:06 PM
Out Of Control!!

In the market
The remote lead what actually turns the amp on and off. Your power wire should come directly from a battery (through a fuse of course), and your remote wire should come from a power source that is only hot when the headunit is on. Is your headunit stock or aftermarket. Definitley check you wiring from the amp to your subs. CHeck the actul connection on the subs themselves. The problem cloould also be at the subs.
Old 05-12-2005, 03:07 PM

c-240

I have a stock system. Could the line outpute converter be faulty or loose?
Old 05-12-2005, 03:15 PM
Out Of Control!!

In the market