Notices
Audio & Electronics Use this forum to discuss audio and electronic upgrades for your Mercedes-Benz.

Magazine Empty - fixed, for now, I hope

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-13-2007, 03:03 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1999 E430 Sport
Smile Magazine Empty - fixed, for now, I hope

I just thought I'd post a little anecdote of how I got around the "MAGAZINE EMPTY" message on my '99 E430's CD changer. I did a search of this forum and didn't find any similar information (but then again, maybe I'm not that good at searching)

While driving along listening to a CD, I inadvertently pushed one of the number buttons on the radio (I think it was 8 or 9, not that it matters). The music stopped playing and the head unit wouldn't do anything in the CD mode other than display "MAGAZINE EMPTY". Needless to say I was not impressed. I tried switching to the radio or tape modes and back to CD, with the same result - "MAGAZINE EMPTY", so I stopped in a parking lot, opened the trunk and ejected the CD magazine, then re-inserted it. The CD changer sorted through the six slots like normal, and then the head unit said "MAGAZINE EMPTY".

I shut off the engine and removed the ignition key, then ejected the CD magazine and re-inserted it. The CD changer did its usual shuffle through all six slots and then I turned on the ignition and got the "MAGAZINE EMPTY" message again.

Here is what worked:

I shut off the engine again and ejected the CD magazine again. I reached under the CD changer and unplugged the electrical connector from the changer. The electrical connector supplies the power and a wakeup signal to the changer. I waited five or ten seconds, then plugged the electrical connector back in and re-inserted the CD magazine. The CD changer sorted through all six slots just like before, but this time when I turned the ignition and the head unit on, the CD changer started working again playing music from the CDs, just like it should.