Turbo engine question

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-29-2011, 04:44 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2012 C250
Turbo engine question

Hey, im a newbie here. Just picked up my C250 2 days ago, anyway i got a question. Do you guys think it's beneficial to have a turbo timer installed? i'm planning to keep this car for a long time, and i want to find out if there is anything that i can do to prolonged the engine's life, besides the regular maintenance of course.

Thank you.
Old 12-29-2011, 01:33 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 18 Likes on 14 Posts
Nissan GT-R BE / '12 Ducati-1199 Panigale S / '12 C300-4M Loaded/GLK350-4M Loaded
Actually, the turbocharger is the least of your problems... If I were you I would start worrying that you will need a carbon and valve job before you even clock 50,000 miles.

Reasons?

Your new 1.8L Benz engine is direct fuel injected (DI), no longer port fuel injected (PI). Yes this increases the power band and fuel efficiency, but it is proven to be extremely detrimental on the intake valve system. Severe carbon build-up on the intake valves have been widely reported in all new direct injected engines. Audi, Cadillac, BMW, Lexus, & VW forum sites have been screaming bloody-murder for the last few years about the downside of this new technology. Now it’s Mercedes Benz’s turn.