RWD in Indy

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-07-2012, 12:48 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
GLK 350 (soon I hope!)
RWD in Indy

Hi, guys (and gals)! I'm new in the c204 forum. As you can see by my name, I was interested in the GLK a while back, but now I have decided to go for a c coupe instead. I think the car is super cute.

My question now is whether or not I will be fine with the RWD in the Indianapolis area. The dealer I spoke with made it sound like I needed to buy AWD but then again, that is what he had on the lot. In fact he tried to sell me the four door version too instead of the coupe citing I could get AWD for the same price as a RWD coupe. He also told me that AWD would make it much safer for me to drive in the rain and snow.

Anyhow, my husband and I have driven front wheel drive, small four door sedans in all season tires all year long in Indy for years with no problem.

The coupe would be my dedicated car, and I was wondering if RWD would be fine here, and if I did get it, would I need snow tires for it.

Additional info.... I work from home so I have the option to stay at home on snowy and bad weather days.

Thanks in advance for any input!
Old 05-07-2012, 04:20 PM

2012 C 350 Coupe
Im 1.5 hours south of you in Louisville. I opted for a C350 RWD. For the amount of time that AWD comes in handy, I thought RWD would suffice 95% of the time. Also, RWD is more fun to drive and if it is your daily driver...RWD is the way to go. Im sure some will disagree but I have had both Audi Quattro A4 and BMW 328i. RWD is more entertaining!!
Old 05-07-2012, 04:33 PM

GLK 350 (soon I hope!)
Thanks for the input, EnergyBiz!

I didn't think about the fun factor. What makes it more fun? I guess I'm interested in the c coupe for it's overall shape and appearance. I just like the way it looks.

My main concern is I don't want to die on the road because I cheaped out and got the RWD. I just want to make sure I will be safe when I drive it.