Guidance: 2012 204 4matic Replacing Front U-joint Propshaft Driveshaft

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-10-2019 | 11:26 AM

2012 C350 4matic Coupe
Guidance: 2012 204 4matic Replacing Front U-joint Propshaft Driveshaft

Hello all, Just wanted pass on the guidance I was able to gather that helped me replace the front u-joint propshaft driveshaft in my 2012 C350 4matic Coupe (which should be the same for a W204 Sedan and maybe several other 4matic's??). I scoured the internet for help and pieced together a few replies from several different threads on this site and a couple other sites. Thought it might help someone to get it all in one post. *This might not be in perfect order but all needs done, also I'm not a certified mechanic just a home garage parts changer so the terminology used might not be perfect, hope this helps:
**SAFETY IS PRIORITY #1 so inspect your jack stands/lift etc.. and put them in a SAFE/APPROVED location under car! I used attachment point of lower control arm and frame which might not be wide enough if not on smooth level ground. RE-INSPECT them REGULARLY to make sure they have not settled or shifted. While in middle of this project and searching for help online at 2am I saw a headline on a local news site that read "Man killed, crushed under car in parking lot". So please be SMART when doing something like this! Also recommend: keeping pets away from work area, had two cats get in a scuffle right beside one of my jackstands one night...luckily it was only a warning sign of what not to do! Also recommend: setting up a back-up/secondary support(heavy duty wood blocks, concrete blocks, etc..) slightly lower than jackstands/lift just in case your cats are as careless as mine.. seriously though DONT attempt anything you're knowledge, skill, or equipment aren't capable of!
You'll need to raise and support vehicle SECURELY with enough room for you to move around comfortably underneath.