C-Class (W202) 1995-2000: C 200 CDI, C 220 CDI, C 270 CDI, C 180, C 200 K,C 230 K, C 220, C230, C 280

96 c280 head gasket replacement

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-15-2003, 07:51 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
96 c280 head gasket replacement

hi, I have a 1996 C280 with a "bad" gasket, The coolant will leak out around the 1 cylinder in the exhaust side, which I think is one of the common problem with my engine, a local shop has sealed it "temporary". but I would like to get the job done by myself in the comming weekend. But I need some help in how to do it. I personally has own a Miata that also had a blown gasket, fixed it in a afternoon in my garage. because I have no experience with the Benz inline 6, I dunno know how different will it be, but just by "look". I think all head gasket has to go through the similar job..
can anyone here who has experience or done a headgasket job
on their c280 give me some step/hint, I have ordered a new head gasket, one intake manifold gasket, one exhaust gasket. cam gasket. I might change the thermostate when I am down there. so is that all I need? (that was what I need when doing my inline 4). and any special tools required? (are all bolt in metric or SAE?) any thing that need special care like sensors or other ( I think there must be many because it's MB ). please give me some help on how and some hint too thank you.

Kevin
Old 03-16-2003, 03:52 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2008 SLK-280
From what my dealer told me, the only thing harder to change a head gasket on besides a sl600 is the inline 6 mercedes engines.
Old 03-17-2003, 01:46 AM