C-Class (W202) 1995-2000: C 200 CDI, C 220 CDI, C 270 CDI, C 180, C 200 K,C 230 K, C 220, C230, C 280

Looking for Recommendations

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-04-2019, 10:28 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
1998 C230
Looking for Recommendations

I'm a real noob when it comes to this forum not to mention having a Mercedes. My grandson just gave me his 1998 C230 (dealer wouldn't give him squat on trade). It has some issues and I am thinking of restoring it. My first problem is a fluid leak. He just replaced the thermostat and the next day there is an apparent water pump issue (leak). Will one fix create another issue? Anyway one of my concerns also is body rust. There is a lot of surface rust along the top of the side body trim mouldings on both sides. Is there a special tool to remove them? I tried to do it with a screwdriver with no luck but I don't want to damage the body any further. I'm sure there will be more issues but a little advice on how to proceed will be great. Thanks in advance to any that answer. An afterthought ... it has 145K miles on it, do you think it is worth putting time and money into it?

Peace
Old 03-04-2019, 10:04 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 139 Likes on 135 Posts
02w163ML500 / 97w210E50AMG / 99w202C230k / 95w124500e-wip
Welcome geno4952,
Hard to say if the thermostat swap created the wp leak. Assuming the thermostat issue is resolved, you need to find the location of the wp leak - on the wp seals or elsewhere?

Rust is cancer. There is no any amount of sanding down to remove-the-rust is going to help you get rid of it. Like all rust, you can "slow it down", however it will come back. Only resolution is to "cut it out" and replace that section.