C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Resealing the Recirculating Cover

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-14-2008, 05:25 AM
Moderator Alumni

Received 20 Likes on 7 Posts
w203 m112
Resealing the Recirculating Cover

The m112 motor has a cover that helps recirculate oil on top of each of the valve covers that often leaks and as a result the motor will lose oil and it will make your engine bay a mess.

Simple signs of this seal leaking are the smell of burning oil, the car losing excessive oil, and of course a very dirty set of valve covers and/or plugs and wires.

Unfortunately for the m112, there is no gasket that can simply be bought and replaced, but instead, we have to use a gasket maker to create a new seal.

Before I proceed with the basics of this process Id like to say that I am not a professional and that the process detailed is just my attempt to offer some insight for those who might have the problems I have found.

Tools Needed:
Permatex RVT Black Gasket Maker
E10 inverted star shaped bit
14mm star shaped bit. (i think)
Sensor Cleaner ( or something to help remove oil and engine grime)
A couple flat head screw drivers
Lots of cleaning rags/paper towels
Wire cutter (removing zip ties)
Zip ties

Time required - Two hours per cover

The steps are pretty simple:

Have the car parked in a garage/warm/dry place where you can work safely on the car after the engine has been parked for a while - to ensure very little oil is in these covers and that the headers are cool.

Remove the airbox + tubes that head to the air box + use something to cover the MAF.