C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

FM modulator help?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-07-2003, 05:26 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
FM modulator help?

I have a c230 coupe. Do I need a special adaptor to install a FM modulator. I was told by a local stereo store that this adaptor was necessary. Is this true?
Old 06-07-2003, 06:54 AM

I am not an expert, but I understand most FM modulators re-transmit the signal in the lower part of the spectrum (generally < 88 MHz or so.) Point being if that's the case, and you have a retransmitter situated near your antenna, then you "should" be able to tune in and receive the signal with no adaptor.

Did the person at the stereo shop say what the adaptor would do for you?

FYI I purchased an inexpensive FM modulator for Otto before the CD Changer was installed, and it worked just fine (with no adaptor.

Good luck...rich
Old 06-07-2003, 08:52 AM
Almost a Member!

c230k
yup.

the modulator i installed had a different aentenae plug, so i had to install an adaptor (i think it was a vw adaptor) to go between the modulator the antenae and the head unit. the adaptor i installed didnt have a ground wire but i have seen some that do. it seems to work fine, just make sure you set the volume level on the adaptor to high. i set mine to medium and have to turn the stereo up a bit to get sufficient volume. good luck.
Old 06-07-2003, 09:06 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
C230K Coupe/Orion/C4/C5/CD/AMG Spoiler/V60/TeleAid, 2 MGB's
Re: FM modulator help?

Originally posted by sycuan91
I have a c230 coupe. Do I need a special adaptor to install a FM modulator. I was told by a local stereo store that this adaptor was necessary. Is this true?
It depends....You didn't say what you're trying to adapt. A CD changer? An MP3 Player or other portable device?

Anyway...