C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

2006 C230 Front Power Window Regulator DIY

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-02-2012, 12:24 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2006 Mercedes-Benz C230

I’ll start off by saying that Mercedes are definitely not my area of expertise, but I have quickly been becoming acquainted with them due to the recent purchase of my C230. I have been a tech for about 10 years or so mainly on American and Japanese makes/models and have also worked as a technical writer for a few years. I am an ASE Master Auto Technician, Master Med/Heavy Duty Truck Technician, L1&F1 certified. I am also a certified A&P Mechanic.
I apologize for the lack of pics for this write-up since it was unplanned and I had to get it done in the shortest amount of time possible. If any one has any pics that would be useful, please feel free to add them to the procedure. It took me just under and hour from start to finish to complete the job on my first time out.
You may need to vary the procedure slightly depending on how “broken” your regulator is. I was fortunate enough to have a completely broken one that allowed me to manually move the window up and down. Also use as much finesse as possible during the removal process. Hopefully this will come in handy for someone else...

Some symptoms of a bad/failed window regulator are:
· Clicking when raising or lowering the window (early stages – I only got about another week out of mine once this started, though).
· Window stuck in one position and there are strange noises when activating the switch.
· Window falls into the door and is not able to be raised.

Part #’s

203-720-32-46 Window Regulator Qty: 1
03-990-24-97 Blind Rivet Qty: 13 (any 3/16” steel blind rivet should work)
Cable/Zip Tie Qty: 1

Tools Needed:

Ratchet
6” Ratchet Extension
T20, T30, T40 Internal Torx Sockets
Electric Drill
13/64” Drill Bit (or similar size – this size worked well for me)