C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

BAS ABS ESP Errors

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-31-2015, 03:22 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2001 C320 4 door sedan
BAS ABS ESP Errors

Hello, I am a newbie here. Thanks in advance for any help or advice.
My 2001 C320 has me at my wits end. I am continually getting these errors,
when I do it causes my car to stop shifting speedometer stops working etc.
If I pull over and turn off the car restart then it will usually go, it seems to be worse on a hot day or if driving around town doing errands. Lately it seems to be getting much more frequent. I am afraid i am going to get stuck on the highway some day with a huge tow bill. I love my car but it is so expensive to diagnose the many many issues i have had with it. I think i found a fix here for my battery draining issue...going to go cut some wires Wish me luck !!
Old 06-02-2015, 12:50 AM
Super Moderator

Received 21 Likes on 20 Posts
THE C350
Check your ABS/ESP computer connector for water damage/corrosion. It is a known issue on the early w203's that water would get into the connector and cause all those errors (my w203 had it happen and required a new computer $250 from a wrecker)
You really need to get the car scanned with a star computer though to actually diagnose the issue though. When my car started to have this issue is when I bought my Star computer and it saved me at least a grand.
Old 06-02-2015, 11:16 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
C230 COUPE 2003 M271
Originally Posted by samaritrey
Check your ABS/ESP computer connector for water damage/corrosion. It is a known issue on the early w203's that water would get into the connector and cause all those errors (my w203 had it happen and required a new computer $250 from a wrecker)