C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

New C230 Owner...Ride Feel, Vibration and Power Questions

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-25-2017 | 12:38 PM

2005 Black C230
Thumbs up New C230 Owner...Ride Feel, Vibration and Power Questions

Hey Guys, so I am new to the Mercedes world... just purchased a Black on Black 05 C230 Kompressor Sport..with 150k on it..very clean car..

Some context: I have been driving an 05 Cadillac CTS 3.6 before this... the Caddie is (and I never thought I would be saying this about a caddie vs Benz) faster, smoother and is a much more enjoyable driver than this car but I just didn't like the look of the caddie...so I bought this car.

I have been driving the c230 for only about 3 days and just wanted to see if you guys experience some of these things...

1. The ride feels very stiff, when I hit bumps I feel it and it echos through the car... Do you guys feel every bump? Are you suspensions very stiff? I mean when I hit a small pot hole sounds like a baseball bat hit the wheel. Is that just how it drives or are you finding yours smoother? Need to figure out if I need new shocks or not..

2. Vibrations - The car seems to have a general vibration to it...on a scale of 1 to 10 , 10 being a jackhammer...I would say it's a general 3 or 4 ...it's def not smooth like any other car I've driven at idle or slow speeds. but it has a distinct mild vibration....never driven a supercharged car before... is this normal? Do you guys experience this? Are there mounts I need to check? Engine,Trans etc that may be worn or is this normal?