C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Chasing clouds. Project AMGM at Heinlein Racing Development

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-02-2019 | 08:59 PM

C230
Chasing clouds. Project AMGM at Heinlein Racing Development

Hello MBWorld! My name is Tim and I work as a fabricator and technician for Heinlein Racing Development in Ledgewood NJ. Recently we have started on a journey that will lead us to 156 turns and 14,000 feet of elevation. This project is slated to run at Pikes Peak this year. We are a few weeks into the build and have made some really good progress. Today all of the tubing arrived for the cage fabrication to begin, this is where things really start to get fun (at least in my metal dust infused opinion).

Now, for a bit of a disclaimer, we understand that this combination of vehicles is not for everyone, but it is for us. We are pushing for something totally unique and certainly one-of-a-kind. For the MB purest, cover your eyes, cause this is gonna sting.

Here is the simplified rundown of the project:

- C230 Hatch
- C6 Corvette frame and drivetrain
- 6.0L twin turbo v8 that we shooting to produce 800-1000hp
- Extensive body modifications including a fully custom widebody and aero package
- PPTT spec-ed roll cage
- Upgraded brakes and suspension
- AIM dash

Now for some pictures, keep in mind there is TONS more to do, but I would like to share where we are right now and will contunie to keep this updated as we move along. We are going to be setting up a live stream camera so anyone can check in on progress, I will link that once it is available.

The C6:

Gut and strip to the frame:

The first time the 2 chassis are relizing what might be happening to them:

Days of cutting and grinding:

First test fit, not too bad!!!

Wider wheels for mock up:

C230 Sedan front end supports welded on:

Sedan front end on:

Starting to look mean!