C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Air Conditioning Issue - Code B1046

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-15-2023, 10:15 PM

Received 133 Likes on 124 Posts
2005 C230 Sport Sedan-6 Speed Manual
Air Conditioning Issue - Code B1046

I'm planning ahead for the summer, and I am studying an air conditioning issue with the goal of fixing it before the heat arrives.

On very hot days (e.g., 90 degrees Fahrenheit/32 Celsius and hotter) it takes about 10 minutes of driving before the air conditioning provides reasonably cold air. For example, the first part of my commute home from work consists of about 5 miles of 25 -35 mph driving. The air conditioning will blow lukewarm air during that part of the drive. When I enter the highway, and drive at 60-70 mph, it does better, but it is not ideal. I purchased a laser thermometer at Harbor Freight and will use it to measure the temperature of the air when I need to use the AC again.

I scanned the car and the scanner showed code B1046. According to my iCarsoft MBII, this code means: Check coding 'Refrigerant" pressure sensor for component B12/2 (Refrigerant pressure and temperature sensor 1). OR Component B12/2 (Refrigerant pressure and temperature sensor 1) or line to component has short circuit. (Refrigerant temperature)

I found what appears to be the refrigerant temperature and pressure sensor on the condenser near the bottom of the front bumper. The wiring harness seems to be OK on it.

I've disconnected the wiring harness from the sensor in this picture. The connector is on the right attached to 3 wires - Blue/Red, Brown/Yellow and Red/White.

My theory is that the defective sensor or wiring between the sensor and the front SAM is preventing the SAM from receiving the signal required to tell the car to run the engine fan at high speed. Therefore, the refrigerant is staying warm until I begin to drive at highway speeds.