C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

Took the plunge, got an MBZ C230 Coupe

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-15-2004, 08:16 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Took the plunge, got an MBZ C230 Coupe

After debating between a new MINI, new C230 coupe, new Scion Tc, my gf and I decided to buy a used 2002 C230 instead. The car that we are picking up Saturday is a 2002 black with auto transmission and sunroof with 12K miles. The car is a cerified used car that will be under warranty for another 2.75 years/90K miles. The car also has free service for another 1.5 years. The c coupe will be our first MBZ, we will see how that works out.

Anyway I got a few questions for you guys as I am new to the MBZ world.

#1 Car is a late 2002 model, what are the things that I should look for when I get it?
#2 What is covered under the factory service thingy? Is it just the oil change at every 13000 miles?
#3 I noticed the tiptonic works a little funny. The display shows that it is in D most of the time until I start moving the stick. Is there anyway to have it display what gear you are in all the time? When I drive it, I would like to know what gear it is in so I dont shift into the wrong one.
#4 The part that concerns me the most is the engine. Although the car is under factory warranty, but the engine sounds very odd for a car with 12K miles. When you first start it, it runs like it has an exhaust leak. After about 10-15 sec, it would change to a lower mellower tone. I assume it is normal as I heard it on my friend's SLK 230, I assume it is some choke type of feature they put on the engine? Other than that, the engine sounded okay and the car has enough power to move around town.
#5 What can you see in the trip computer?
#6 Is it possible to add heated seats or HID easily?