C-Class (W203) 2001-2007, C160, C180, C200, C220, C230, C240, C270, C280, C300, C320, C230K, C350, Coupe

intermittent Problems Locking with Remote

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-11-2005, 07:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Exclamation intermittent Problems Locking with Remote

Hi all,
This is my first time posting to the forum but I have been reading it for a while.
I have a problem with the remote for locking the car as it seem to work intermittently. I have noticed that if it wont lock, when I try and put the key into the ignition it is a little stiff. When it finally goes in I start the car and then turn it off and remove the key. The car the locks fine.

Is this a problem with the ignition or the key?

From reading some old posts some people have trouble with the ignition switch, which I think is the problem.

Can I put some sort of lubricant in here or could I damage something else?

I might also add that there are two MB dealers close to me and I have had bad experiences with both, therefore I am reluctant to go to a dealer.

I would appricate any comments or suggestions.
Old 02-11-2005, 07:34 PM
Administrator

Received 30 Likes on 24 Posts
MPG+ ROLFCOPTER
Welcome to the forum.

Change your key batteries for a start.
Old 02-11-2005, 09:15 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 149 Likes on 133 Posts
'17 Jaguar XF
Amdeutsch!

Thank you for taking your meds today
Old 02-11-2005, 09:24 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Originally Posted by 01 C Class
Hi all,
This is my first time posting to the forum but I have been reading it for a while.
I have a problem with the remote for locking the car as it seem to work intermittently. I have noticed that if it wont lock, when I try and put the key into the ignition it is a little stiff. When it finally goes in I start the car and then turn it off and remove the key. The car the locks fine.

Is this a problem with the ignition or the key?