C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Black Sooty Diesel Bumper Solved.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 05-16-2010, 05:53 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 55 Likes on 52 Posts
2007 W204 220CDI Classic Sedan
Black Sooty Diesel Bumper Solved.

I have sorted out the exhaust soot deposit on my rear bumper by simply loosening one screw & extending the tip about 1 1/2" to the extremity of the slot.

To protect the tip from damage when rear parking I have left the clamping screw loose & applied heat resistant grease (Loctite) to the tip so it will slide in if the kerb is hit. The screw will not fall out as I have used thread lock fluid & a retaining wire.

I have run the car like this for a month now & thankfully do not have a black rear end.

PS.1. The engine does not have a particulate filter.

2. I am a conservative driver.
Old 05-16-2010, 11:38 PM
RLE
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 6 Likes on 6 Posts
'08 C300 Lux Barolo Red Beige Leather P2 MM 18" wheels '84 944
Puttering around

Originally Posted by Carsy
I have run the car like this for a month now & thankfully do not have a black rear end.

PS.1. The engine does not have a particulate filter.

2. I am a conservative driver.
Driving diesels slowly results in carbon buildup and loss of performance over time. The engine needs some high rpm full throttle driving to keep it cleaned out.

Such as a long upgrade in a lower gear and full throttle. From time to time.
Old 05-17-2010, 02:20 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Originally Posted by RLE
Driving diesels slowly results in carbon buildup and loss of performance over time. The engine needs some high rpm full throttle driving to keep it cleaned out.

Such as a long upgrade in a lower gear and full throttle. From time to time.
Highway driving at 115 km an hour does the job well enough.

I don't believe lower gears & full throttle has any beneficial effect on diesel engine performance.