C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Nav 4 vs Multimedia Package

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-09-2010, 01:11 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C300 Sport 4matic
Nav 4 vs Multimedia Package

Hello MB Enthusiasts!

i am new to the wonderful world of MB and need a bit of advice. I would like to have a navigation in my new C300 but I am not sure whether i should to go for the big screen navigation with Multi-media package or if Nav 4 w UMI would suffice. Any advise regard will be much appreciated! Is voice activation functional? Is it necessary?
Old 12-09-2010, 08:51 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 57 Likes on 36 Posts
Another round of ICE
I may have a minority point of view, but my answer is "neither". Those who have the MB nav are not full of praise for how well it works, screen display, etc. Rather than spend $2500 for the nav or about $2000 for the retrofit, I spent $500 for a top of the line Garmin and picked up an Arkon vent mount on Amazon for about $5. The Garmin navigation is unbeatable, I can take it with me when I travel, the mounting location works very well and it all stores nicely in the glove box until I need it (I don't get lost every day!), and I kept at least $1500 for better uses.
Old 12-09-2010, 09:37 AM

C300 Sport 4matic
Sportstcik, thank you. I have been using Garmin stand alone navigation myself. I think it does the job just fine but now i am ready to try the built-in version. So the question is still out : is the Nav 4 UMI sufficient or there really an added benefit of having the Multi-media package that worth the money. IMHO it is mostly about: big and nice navigation screen and the voice activation. Does anybody use voice activation? Is it convenient or pretty useless?
Old 12-09-2010, 09:54 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
'15 E350 4M Sport
Originally Posted by Mers2010
...Does anybody use voice activation? Is it convenient or pretty useless?