C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Mid grade Gas in winters???

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 12-28-2010 | 02:07 PM

c300
Mid grade Gas in winters???

So this morning i bring in my 08' c300 sport for some minor repairs.
I asked them to hook it up on DAS to check for any updates since i been noticing some random rough idling. The SA suggests that i use mid grade gas in winters since it's easier for the engine to burn. Is that correct??
Old 12-28-2010 | 07:21 PM

2009 C300 Sport
HA!

First - I'd tell him to put it in writing on the dealership letterhead and sign it for when a warranty claim is needed for ANYTHING on the car.

Second - I would think the lower octane would be more difficult for the car to burn. I'm not an engineer or mechanic, but the manual calls for premium - the car get premium at every fill up!
Old 12-28-2010 | 07:38 PM
Administrator
MBWorld Ambassador

MPG+ ROLFCOPTER
Originally Posted by Warrior6521
I would think the lower octane would be more difficult for the car to burn. I'm not an engineer or mechanic, but the manual calls for premium - the car get premium at every fill up!
Actually your thinking is incorrect. Premium requires higher compression than mid or normal. In this case, the lower the octane rating the easier is the combustion. There is a relationship. Now, that is not to say that premium, when recommended by the OEM, isn't warranted.
Old 12-28-2010 | 08:48 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

2012 C250 Coupe
It is perfectly safe to run mid-grade gas in your vehicle today. Our engines have knock sensors and according to the detonation the ECU detects, it will switch to different ECU maps (regular, mid-grade, premium; essentially, but there are many more maps).