C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Going non-staggered in a 2008 c300 Sport?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-11-2011, 08:27 PM

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
2008 c300 Sport 4matic
Wink Going non-staggered in a 2008 c300 Sport?

Hi, I'm a newbie here, since I just bought my first MB two days ago. My shiny black c300 Sport 4matic has worn out snow tires on its factory wheels. Even tho the rear wheels are wider than the front ones, all 4 snows are the same size-- 225/45R17.

I plan to get new tires tomorrow... Probably Michelin Primacy MXM4s, and was thinking I would get them all the same size... just like the snow tires. That way, I could rotate them and extend the mileage.

Plus, since the original wheels have some nasty curb rash, I was thinking of picking up some nice aftermarket wheels from Powerwheels Pro and moving my street tires over to them at some future point, then pick up some new snow tires and put them on my old rims. I probably couldn't do that if two of my summer tires were extra wide.

Since the tires that normally go on the front end will also fit the rear rims ( my 4 identical snows prove this point), is there any reason not to go with 4 identical summer tires?

Any advice you MB geeks Can offer is appreciated!

Last edited by amazer98; 09-11-2011 at 08:30 PM.
Old 09-11-2011, 09:03 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 57 Likes on 36 Posts
Another round of ICE
First of all...why only a Grand Touring tire? Do you really not want better performance? I would consider the (Ultra High Performance) Michelin Pilot Sport A/S Plus instead...they are much better suited to the car. Or, at the very least, the Pilot Exalto A/S, as a High Performance All Season