C-Class (W204) 2008 - 2014: C180K, C200K, C230, C280, C300, C350, C200CDI, C220CDI, C320CDI

Steering wheel feeling

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-24-2018, 09:15 PM

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
E46 ZSP 5spd
Steering wheel feeling

Hi folks. I was thinking about asking the community to address their experiences with the steering wheel feeling in the w204.

I have been driving and DIYing an E46 ZSP (factory lowered on 17inch wheels) for 8 years now and I am finding myself attracted to the W204 (facelif). This weekend I drove a C300 4 matic Sport Sedan in the rain and was perplexed about the steering wheel feeling. I felt detached from the road a bit, another way to put it, is that it did not feel heavy. At higher speeds in a slightly aggressive/gentle curve, the steering input became too sensitive and I didn't like the car cutting into the curve almost too sharply. Here is the car I drove.

Clearly I am a newb at MB and didn't even know about the Eco/Sport switch on the gear selector (not that the salesman cared to tell me either). Could that have made a difference or is this knob only power related (does it remap the accelerator pedal)? Does it alter steering wheel feeling or suspension?

I guess all of this takes getting used to and it could just be that I am used to my bimmer and I like the feeling, the weight, the touch of the wheel on that car.

Could those who may have driving similar cars discuss this with me. Am I nuts, or the only one who feels this way? I think this is an important point in my decision making to purchase a w204.

Last edited by OLI77; 04-24-2018 at 09:23 PM. Reason: clarity
Old 04-24-2018, 10:13 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 55 Likes on 51 Posts
2013 C250 Sport
Originally Posted by OLI77
Hi folks. I was thinking about asking the community to address their experiences with the steering wheel feeling in the w204.