C Class (W205) C 180 BlueTec,C 200 BlueTec,C 220 BlueTec,C 220 BlueTec BlueEfficiency,C 250 BlueTec,C 300 BlueTec Hybridplus,C 180,C 180 BlueEfficiency,C 200,C 250,C 300,C 400 Plug-in Hybrid,C 400

Realistic C350e MPG

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-30-2015, 04:50 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
bmw
Realistic C350e MPG

Hi all,
Looking for some mileage advice please.

Am looking at ordering the C350e as the low tax implications make it a good fit for me, but I'm more than a little concerned about the MPG I should expect.

My driving is mixed - I work in the field, some motorway, some minor roads, some local - probably longer distance journeys than shorter distance overall (20k per year).

Currently drive a BMW 320d Efficient Dynamics (economical driver/economical setting), and get 59mpg.

I dont expect to get anywhere close to 100+mpg like advertised, but wonder what realistic estimates might be?

Thanks all!
Old 03-30-2015, 07:14 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
C300 Hybrid (AMG Line), MG TF 160, BMW 120d
I would say that will depend 100% on the type of driving you do. If most of your runs are less then 20 miles and you can plug in at each end then the economy will be awesome however as soon as the petrol engine has to get involved it will deteriorate pretty quickly. A good example of that was the i8 tested by top gear which only managed something like 35mpg during their road test of it.

I've got the C300 hybrid which doesn't have quite the same headline figure as the 350e however it does still achieve very reasonable economy on a long run and tax wise it isn't too bad either.
Old 03-30-2015, 09:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 85 Likes on 69 Posts
2017 E300
recent US reviews are saying that in hybrid mode (that is the battery is depleted), they were getting between 35-40mpg. Of course, when the first 18 miles are gas free, that inflates your mpg numbers greatly and depending on your commute, you might not even use any gas