C Class (W205) C 180 BlueTec,C 200 BlueTec,C 220 BlueTec,C 220 BlueTec BlueEfficiency,C 250 BlueTec,C 300 BlueTec Hybridplus,C 180,C 180 BlueEfficiency,C 200,C 250,C 300,C 400 Plug-in Hybrid,C 400

Tutorial: Adding a subwoofer to Burmester system.

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 02-02-2019, 06:27 PM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
2015 C300 4MATIC, 2003 CL55, 2009 C300 4MATIC
Tutorial: Adding a subwoofer to Burmester system.

I believe this is my first time posting a thread on MBWorld. I frequent FB quite often for advice but it seems as if the W205 community is mainly on the forums. FB is rather annoying and limited anyway. After countless searching without anyone giving clear advice on how to add a subwoofer to the existing Burmester system, I decided to dive in and do it myself, taking a few photos along the way.
I had a 12inch Addictive Audio “Shake” subwoofer in a ported box from my BMW I just sold and wanted to utilize it in the C-Class I just bought. Of course after hearing how horrible the bass on the Burmester system was, I NEEDED to add some bass.

*Getting Bass Signal*
So I started by removing the trunk liner (passenger side)
Then I accessed the factory Burmester amp which is located on the reverse side of a metal mount. You must remove the mount in order to access the amp.
I unplugged the amplifier then removed the sheathing of the wire loom to expose the wires.
On the wire loom you must tap into the Pink, Pink/Black and Violet, Violet/Black. Those are the speaker wires for the factory bass speakers.
I then installed a Line-out converter ($25). This will convert the speaker signal to RCA, which will connect to most amplifiers.
After this is complete, you now have the bass signal for the aftermarket amp for your subwoofer.

*Getting Amp Power* (If you are running a high powered system, you must run a wire directly from the battery to avoid damaging the electrical system)