C-Class (W206) 2021 to

Car rocking at 70/80 mph, and weird crackling noise from driver dash area

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-18-2022, 12:15 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
W206
Car rocking at 70/80 mph, and weird crackling noise from driver dash area

Hi all, I own a 2022 c class with 2700 miles on it. Recently weve started seeing two issues -

on a highway drive we realized that the car is rocking at high speeds, around 70/80mph. The car doesn't go in a straight line,, and the rear feels like a train or a boat. We've driven over potholes and such, wonder if those could have caused this?

We've also noted a crackling noise, sort of like radio static, from the driver dash area. Happens intermittently, only when I'm accelerating and not when I'm cruising. It doesn't seem to happen from another profile, and in comfort drive, but I'm unsure if those are just coincidences.

Anyone else seen something like this?

This is my first time owning a Mercedes, so would appreciate any idea of what to expect when we take it in. Thank you so much, and apologies for any mistakes in the post.
Old 09-18-2022, 07:09 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 680 Likes on 535 Posts
c
You could try getting the dealer to do road force balancing on the wheels/tires - otherwise the next thing is an alignment, which you'll likely have to pay for..

Old 09-18-2022, 11:27 PM

W206
Originally Posted by alexasa
You could try getting the dealer to do road force balancing on the wheels/tires - otherwise the next thing is an alignment, which you'll likely have to pay for..
Thanks. I expected as much. You sure it it's the wheels? I'm worried about not being able to describe the issue correctly and having to go back.
Old 09-21-2022, 10:12 PM

Received 7 Likes on 4 Posts
C300