C218 CLS63, 2011 - 2019

Advice Needed - ‘15 CLS 63s $48k @ 71k miles

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-17-2022, 06:59 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2017 Audi A4
Advice Needed - ‘15 CLS 63s $48k @ 71k miles

Hey all - I’m a newbie here looking for some advice on my next car. I’m currently searching for an AMG and the CLS has been top of mind for some time now.

I recently came across a listing for a gorgeous 2015 CLS 63s with ~71k miles on it (2 owners, first was a lease). I’ve looked into the carfax, so far it looks clean (no accidents) and it appears service was done on schedule, recently just had the 70k service done. Important detail to note, the car has some RennTech badging on it however no description on any listing mentions any details on what was done to it.. Based on Carfax the car was in warm states for its entire life, and as the username suggests I’ll be bringing the car up to New England if all works out.

I’m a newbie to the AMG world and the performance car world in general. Before I make any decisions to buy this car, or any car for that fact, I’ve got a few questions/concerns I was hoping some of the folks on here could help educate me (saying it now pls excuse my lack of knowledge for some of these things I’m trying to learn and make an informed decision lol)

- Based on the initial description is this a good buy for the mileage?? Happy to provide more details as needed
- What’s the typical service costs for service A and B around the NE area?
- I’m concerned around the life of the turbos, typically in the M157 engine do the turbos need replacing/servicing around this mileage? I’ve read something about turbo life lasting to ~100k miles but of course it depends on how the car was driven.. can’t really expect an AMG to be “gently driven” lol
- In general wondering from experience how reliable M157s are after 70k miles, should I expect to see a ton of maintenance coming up?