C219 CLS55 and CLS63, 2004-2010

Bridgestone vs Pirelli

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 06-22-2008, 11:56 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
cls55
Bridgestone vs Pirelli

I have a 06 CLS55. After 23,000 miles I am ready to change my tires. My factory tires are the Pirelli PZero Rosso. I am buying my tires from Tirerack.com and they rate the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A better than the Pirelli PZero. The Bridgestone is also much cheaper. I have no experience with any other tires other than the Pirelli on my car. Any recommendation? Is the Pirelli worth the extra money?

Thank you for your input.
Old 06-23-2008, 07:26 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
'10 Panamera S, '06 AMG CLS55, '07 Miata MX5, '02 MB SPRINTER, '99 Spec Miata Race Car (2X)
Originally Posted by dshuen
I have a 06 CLS55. After 23,000 miles I am ready to change my tires. My factory tires are the Pirelli PZero Rosso. I am buying my tires from Tirerack.com and they rate the Bridgestone Potenza RE050A better than the Pirelli PZero. The Bridgestone is also much cheaper. I have no experience with any other tires other than the Pirelli on my car. Any recommendation? Is the Pirelli worth the extra money?

Thank you for your input.
I can only assume that this is the 2nd time that you are changing the tires (or that you bought the car used after tires were changed). It is NOT posible to get 23,000 miles on a CLS55 even if you are incredibly conservative and gentle. Getting 10-12k seems typical although many have had to change out tires in the 8-9K range with aggressive driving.

I have used both Bridgestone and Pirelli on the E55 and CLS55 and cannot tell you one way or the other. Both do a reasonable job, but I have stuck with the Pirelli's. Post this on the AMG E55/E63 forum - you will get a much wider sampling and I am sure this has been aswered to death on that forum - just do a search.

Good luck with your decision
Old 06-23-2008, 08:36 AM

Velvet Fleetwood