C219 CLS55 and CLS63, 2004-2010

Help with mods please...

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-18-2014, 06:29 PM

Received 40 Likes on 37 Posts
S63
Help with mods please...

Hey guys, I'm new to the "modding" world and need some assistance... I recently purchased an 09 CLS63..
I'm already Eurocharged tuned, and now it's time for more.
Here's where I'm at... I was going to get a LTH system, (headers, mid pipes, x pipes and cats). Then I read how loud they are and I don't want that for my DD. I spoke with mike from MBH and he suggested JUST the LTH and leave the rest stock. it would Give me nice HP gains and only a lil more sound. This option sounds great to me and is exactly what I'm looking for.
So, 3 questions to go along with the LTH:
1) Is a larger 82mm TB worth the high price tag to send more air in to the engine?
2) If so, would I need the ROW air boxes or something like the crazy priced Renntech air box to go along with the TB?
3) if I increase the air flow in with the TB and air box, will the LTH's alone be sufficient enough to let the exhaust out, or would the rest of it (past the LTH) need to be swapped out for it to escape?
Thanks, any help would be appreciated, and sorry for the long post!
Old 01-20-2014, 08:19 PM

S63
Bump, someone has to know something...
Old 01-20-2014, 09:18 PM
PLATINUM SPONSOR

Received 62 Likes on 53 Posts
2003 CL55
I would put the LTH on and see how you like the power, bofore throwing big bucks at TB and air boxes. Good drop in K&N style filters will help some but stock air flow is not that horrible and LTH will give you good bang for the buck.

E63 Biturbo, UPD Cold Air induction kit, UPD performance crank pulley and UPD adjustable rear suspension with ride height adjustment.