Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 01-28-2014, 12:03 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 105 Likes on 99 Posts
CLS 55 AMG E500 99 ML320
Tire wear information

Preface
My daily commute is 100 miles so after 6 sets of tires and countless alignments I studied the problem of tire wear extensively. Not as exciting as a 10 second ¼ mile but just as expensive.
Keep in mind this is assuming good balance (changes with wear) and tight ball joints and good shocks. Those will compound any problems dramatically if they are not right.
So… here is what I know so far:
First; camber doesn’t cause wear, it only concentrates it on one side. Toe in (or out) causes wear.
Second; there is no such thing as a perfect alignment, it is a compromise. There is so much flex in our suspension that specs call for lots of tow. It flexes back to straight at 180mph, but you are scuffing your tires off at 55 mph. The trick is to eliminate some flex, then pick your compromise on the toe. (I’m speaking of the front end. I’ll get to the rear later) Eliminating camber spreads whatever wear you have over the whole tread, making it less noticeable. The first thing to look at is the lower front thrust arms. They are the aluminum ones and the ball joint is not replaceable. From the factory they come with a big squishy hollow rubber bushing oem replacement has solid rubber and is much better. See early post “Front tire wear solved” Kmac bushings will eliminate both rubber mounting points and give you camber/caster adjustment as well. The more flex you eliminate, the less toe you need to compensate for it. I don’t have time to explain castor, except that it will pull your car one way or the other if it’s not even, and sometimes it’s set uneven to compensate for road slope.