C32 AMG, C55 AMG (W203) 2001 - 2007

Purchased a new portable GPS

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 11-18-2007, 08:27 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
'10 E63 Obsidiant Black; '06 R350 Alabaster White; 05 C55 Obsidiant Black (sold)
Purchased a new portable GPS

So after owning my C55 without navigation for almost 3 years, i find that sometimes its very inconvenient and annoying when you need to go somewhere but you just don't know the roads. So i decided to get a navigation system. An OEM navigation costs over 1.5k, yet it doesn't function better than a portable GPS which costs a lot less, therefore i decided to go for the cheaper solution. So i went onto craigslist and found a person selling a brand new ASUS R600 local. After some negotiation, i got it for $300CND. Since the R600 is quite new in the market, and ASUS is kind of new to the portable GPS market, i thought i should post some feedback on this machine. (I'm a newbie in the GPS area, some of my comments might sound stupid, please dont flame )

Pros:
1. It's a memory card based navigation, with an SD card reader, you can add and delete maps easily at home with your computer.
2. It comes with MP3 player and video player. Since my car has neither(my sound system doesn't read MP3 CDs), and i don't have an Ipod, this is a great buy for me. All i have to do is store the mp3s and videos in an SD card(up to 4GBs), plug it into the R600 and my passengers are able to enjoy movies during trips.
3. There's an audio line jack on the R600, so i connected it to AUX-in, and the music/sound from MP3/video come right out from my car speakers.
4. There's also a bluetooth hands free feature on the R600, another feature i don't have on my car.
5. Two levels of background lighting settings, with the built in light sensor, it's able to adjust the background lighting automatically.