What should I look for when buying?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-04-2005 | 03:10 PM
Almost a Member!

'99 AMG C43
What should I look for when buying?

Hello everyone!

A complete newbie to the forums here, I realise most of you are in the USofA, hope you don't mind a limey dropping in.

I'm looking to change my car soon, and have decided that a C43 is top of the list for a replacement, but realise that I need to do my homework rather than going in feet-first.. they are complicated beasts and expensive to fix when they go wrong! I'd rather take my time and find the right one..

From the research I've done so far, the things that seem to be highlighted are transmission problems and an appetite for brake rotors.. not such a big surprise, considering the performance available. Is there anything else I should be looking out for? Whatever I buy, it will have to have full main dealer servicing history before I even consider it. I intend to keep up the servicing as well, as a) it will need it.. I've been running performance cars for years and know that missing out on maintenance isn't a clever idea, and b) I want it to be worth something when I come to sell it!

A quick question on rotors, while I'm on here. I went to look at a year 2000 saloon (I would really prefer the wagon version) last weekend, had a feel around under the wheels and the front rotors had a step around the edge where the pads don't bite. I didn't have any measuring equipment with me, but as I'm a precision engineer by trade I trust my fingers.. I would guess there was a 2-3mm lip on the outside edge (3/32" to 1/8" for those of you more used to inches). Assuming the rotors are worn an equal amount on both sides, are they ready to go in the trash or is there some life left in them yet? I've heard that new rotors are around 850GBP to replace (so roughly double that in dollar terms). I don't really want to have to spend that much on a car I've just bought...