C36 AMG, C43 AMG (W202) 1995 - 2000

C36 Performance/running costs?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 09-20-2002, 03:00 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Smile C36 Performance/running costs?

I am a UK resident and I'm looking into getting a C36 in the next few months - If I can find one! I have learnt a great deal from the other threads and briefly drove a C36, but only in a built up area so I still have some questions for current owners:

How does the car perform for overtaking? I am interested in the 30-50, 40-60, 50-70 and 70-90mph times for example and how the car responds to a sudden change. I have driven and been a passenger in cars which on paper have similar performance (one example would be a subaru Impretza turbo) but these cars have to be revved hard to get the performance and often need down changes before they respond -how is the C36?

I would be interested in running costs in terms of fuel consumption and prices of tires, is a higher grade of oil required, how long does an exhaust last and what does a replacement cost? I would hope to keep the car several years and it would be maintained by family and friends where possible (I'm not a great mechanic).

I don't have far to travel most days so I am hoping I can manage even with the UK fuel prices.

Any feedback on how the 4 and 5 speed autos compare in terms of economy, reliability, smoothness - as I recall from the test drive there was two modes?

Is the extra pack worthwhile - traction control sounds useful for the few days or weeks of snow we sometimes get.

Your comments are greatly appreciated,

Matthew
Old 09-21-2002, 04:04 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

1996 C36 AMG, 1995 Volvo 850 Turbowagon
when it came out in 96...it was awesome...monstrous. now...well...it's still got a punch, but with m3, m5, c32, rs6 coming out...it ain't such a bada$$ anymore.