C36 AMG, C43 AMG (W202) 1995 - 2000

Fellow C43 Owner needs help in OC, CA

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-28-2004, 03:06 PM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
C43
Fellow C43 Owner needs help in OC, CA

Hello all, this is my first time posting here but I have read the forum for a while now.

Like many others, my transmission totally blew up a few weeks ago (65k miles) Just started it up one morning and it sounded like gunfire in my garage.

I have the Starmark warranty so it was replaced under that. Here is the problem, when I picked the car up and drove it home, the C43 growl that we all know and love is gone. No growl and no deep tone when I start it up, no growl when I accelerate, etc. The only sound is from the engine but the car sounds like it has been detuned. Performance seems ok but in my opinion, the sound is one of the most important aspects of the car.

Well, I took it back into the dealership (Fletcher Jones in Newport) and after arguing with two service advisors who said "It sounds fine", the finally got the shop foreman to come out. He test drove the car and came back and said "There is something not right with the car, there is no grunt and growl that is accustomed with the C43" He said he would look at it and get it fixed.

Well, they call me yesterday and say that they ran every test possible and the computers show that nothing is wrong and because the computers done say anything, they cant do anything more. They acknowledge that it does not sound right but pretty much, I have to deal with it. After raising some more hell, excuse my language, but I am pissed, he said that he would have a MB certified technician come look at it.