C63 AMG (W204) 2008 - 2015

Sway Bar DIY for Eibach Swap or OE

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 10-07-2018, 02:20 PM

Received 167 Likes on 112 Posts
2009 C63 P30
Sway Bar DIY for Eibach Swap or OE

OK so following in others' footsteps, I've been interested in sway bars for my P30. As it turned out, last week I discovered Eibach was clearancing their C300 28mm bars and likely discontinued. Research showed that this was an easy DIY and people said "no problem" with the install. Well, I'm a novice and I'm here to tell you if you don't crawl under your car a lot, and don't have tiny Trump hands, then it can be time-consuming and a bit tricky as all the bolts we'll be removing have corresponding nuts up above on top so lots of reaching in and through stuff is required, along with precise blind hand control. For anyone that's done their own headers, this probably seems like child's play. But if you're new, just getting into the AMG, and wanted to add the Eibach bar without paying for install, maybe this thread will help. See my earlier "PSA Eibach on sale" thread for more background. This DIY from Pelican covers most of it but for a C300 and that doesn't involve the steering rack drop like our C63s do.

Tools:
Obvious stuff like Floor Jack and stands or lift or whatever.
8mm socket for removing both undertrays.
T40 Torx for disconnecting lower end links.
18mm socket and ratchet and also another 18mm wrench in spanner form in variety of widths, lengths to fit up above steering rack tray.
13mm socket for sway bar bracket nuts
E12 Torx (aka reverse Torx) for sway bar bracket bolts.
Good quality sharp stepped drill bit for removing the rivets from the brackets.
PB blaster, WD-40 etc.
LOTS of LED lights under there so you can see.
Towels, beer, etc.

1. Jack the car, put it on stands cause you'll prob need your jack again later for supporting the steering rack.