My new C63 and what I've done

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 08-20-2019, 06:44 AM

Received 2 Likes on 1 Post
W204 C63
My new C63 and what I've done

Hi Guys,

New member here from the UK! Back in 2014 my company had a partnership with Mercedes Benz and I was able to have from new a C63 507 Edition Coupe and fell in love with this car and this engine! (KS64 HJD black coupe if anyone has seen it?) Had it for a year and sadly after a very enjoyable 12k miles it had to go back to Mercedes.

Since then I've been waiting for the opportunity to buy another one. I told myself that I didn't mind one with a few issues as I am a reasonably competent mechanic and figured these are becoming old cars now so most of them will have a few issues anyway.
However my musts were, a high spec, low milage, ideally black, not wood trim, 4 door or estate and with the 16 spoke 19" wheels. And I had roughly £16k to spend.

This is what I bought!
A late 2008 saloon with the performance pack, very high spec (I can't actually think of an option it doesn't have) with 67k miles on the clock, full MB service history apart from one.

So the bad bits, the driver side front bumper has one of the louvres has been broken off. Luckily no other damage so hopefully for a paint shop shouldn't be too bad a job. The lacquer on the wheels has starter to peel in the centre and one has been kerbed pretty bad, not actually sure what to with these as I want them to look original but I've seen wheels re-diamond cut before and something doesn't look right with them. Maybe I can get them welded up where the kerb marks are and then only a small diamond cut would be needed?

Two problems I have attempted to fix already is the headlights are constantly on, the switch doesn't seem to do anything. Read it was a common problem, bought a second hand one from Silverlake automotive recycling in Southampton and here's how it went.