CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

How to retune ecu?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 03-27-2010, 08:22 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
CLK230 Kompressor W208
How to retune ecu?

Hi guys,

This is my first post, I just got myself a nice 1998 CLK230 Kompressor.
Looking to upgrade the pulley and retuning the ecu.

Now I'm an auto engineer, I like to do everything myself. In some of my previous cars to retune the ECU, what I had to do was replace a chip in the ecu with one that I've retuned with a eeprom programmer through my computer. Needed the definition flies and what not for the specific car.

Other cars I've had, I just needed the correct software and interface cable and I could reflash the memory of the ecu directly from the laptop through the diagnostic port.

Can someone point me in the right direction of software/hardware needed to retune the W208 CLK230 komp ecu?

Also anyone know of a place that sells just the pullys?

Thanks guys.
Old 03-28-2010, 11:09 PM
MBWorld Fanatic!

99CLK320,
this car obviously is not in the US. You can take the ECU out and send it to a tuner familiar with your motor/model. Evosport does pulleys for US models. Try Kleemann in Europe.
Old 03-28-2010, 11:20 PM

CLK230 Kompressor W208
I wouldn't send out my ECU in 100 years, or get an off the shelf 'chip' done.
Probably one of the silliest things you can do. If your car is bone stock then I can understand as each car SHOULD be the same.

But if your planning mods you need it done specifically for your car, tuned either on a dyno or on the road.

Anyways I've been on a few merc forums and it doesn't seem like anyone really knows how to do this, I guess the merc community is that big on DIY stuff, understandable though not really a car people go crazy with modding, hard to find good info about this stuff.
Old 03-29-2010, 12:08 AM
MBWorld Fanatic!

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts
06 Carrera4
Originally Posted by pauly24