CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Passenger Seat Won't Flip Forward

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-14-2011, 11:55 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 CLK 430
Passenger Seat Won't Flip Forward

Hopefully a simple solution here, but I'm baffled a bit by the problem (and please forgive me, I'm a newbie W208 owner):

The driver's seat handle raises just fine, flips the seat back forward and actuates towards the front to allow passengers to hop in the rear seats. On the passenger side however, the handle raises fine, headrest retracts, but the seat back won't release/flip forward - which then prevents the rest of the seat from actuating towards the front of the car, which in turn does not allow for anyone to get in the rear seats from the passenger side.

Minor, I know - but nevertheless a small pita for me to have to get out of the car anyone is entering/exiting the rear seats. Any ideas on a release there may be? Place to look if the seat is stuck, etc?

And note, the seat moves in all directions just fine when someone is using the position motor controls, etc. It just won't flip forward and feels "locked" - like I may break it if I try to force it with an excessive force.

Thank you!!
Old 07-14-2011, 06:24 PM

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts
W208 CLK320
Seat

I had the same issue with my passangers seat, it ended up being one of the motor was fault. It would move the seat forward and back but the fold and retrack part did not work. I think it was the main or Middle motor cause there is 3 on the bottom of the seat frame. hope that helps.

Actually by re-reading your post it sounds like the release cable with-in the back rest area is broken and will not release the seat forward.

Last edited by device2; 07-14-2011 at 06:29 PM.
Old 07-15-2011, 09:54 AM

2002 CLK 430