CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

SOFT TOP / ROLL BAR LIMIT SWITCH PROBLEM

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 04-26-2016, 09:11 AM

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Mercedes E250 (A207) Blue Eff AMG Line 2011
SOFT TOP / ROLL BAR LIMIT SWITCH PROBLEM

Hi I am a newbie to the forum since Jan this year so not sure how to use this site.

As a bit of background I have a 15 year old 2001 Y Reg W208 CLK 200 Komp Cabriolet. In my ten years of ownership I have saved £000's on dealer costs by using the MB Forum (thanks guys) and doing all my own repairs including:

1. Changing plastic cog to metal cog in windscreen wiper (design fault);MBD £450, me & Ebay £40
2. Solving windscreen run-off water (design fault); nil cost
3. Replacing heater blower capacitor ruined as result of above; MBD £450, me and Ebay £40
4. Replacing rear wheel reluctors; MBD £1,500, me, Ebay & Indie £300
5. Solving Cam solenoid oil leak; MBD £1,500 to replace wiring loom, US MBDealers General MB recall; Indie £25 to install wiring loom fix recommended on MB Form and me £50 for new O2 sensor ruined by leaking Camshaft solenoid capilarsing oil through wiring loom (about once every 6 months until wiring loom drained through pre cat O2 sensor).

There are too many more to mention but please contact me if you want any more details such as part numbers and costs....10 years DIY experience on this car and still going strong with perefect body and engine after 75,000....it is now only the electric which continually defeat me, hence this post.

The roll bar light switch (S83) blinks until I turn the engine on fully and go through at least one up/down cycle. I have determined that this is probably what is stopping my soft top from working automatically as it also keeps the soft top light switch (S84) permanently lit.

1. FUSES

First thing (simplest) I checked was the fuses...there are 3 fuses related to the soft top operation: