CLK-Class (W208) 1998-2002: CLK 200, CLK 230K, CLK 320, CLK 430 [Coupes & Cabriolets]

Convertible top fix: Could this be possible?

Search this Thread

Rate Thread

Old 07-26-2017, 02:19 AM

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
2002 CLK430
Post Convertible top fix: Could this be possible?

Hello, newbie here. I have a 2002 CLK 430 W208 that has a soft top that suddenly stopped working.

It is currently stuck in the up (covered) position. The top will not go up or down, makes no sounds like it’s attempting to.

The roll bar headrests are controllable with the dash switch.

The windows go down when the top is popped open.

All fuses and relays have been checked.

When attempting to operate the opening and closing of the top, the switch to do so located by the shifter’s red light variates between being solid, flashing fast, and flashing slow with no rhyme or reason as to which that I can discern. I only attempt to do this with the trunk closed and the luggage thing pulled out.

I’ve had a guy looking at it for me, retired mechanic, and he has taken apart and put back together many of the components in the trunk. Last night he trickle charged the battery of see if that was the the issue as the car isn’t driven much (67,000 miles in 15 years all driven joyfully with the top down with a few dreary exceptions).

We have not yet tried to manually open then close the top to resequence as the windows going down seems to suggest that it knows the first part of said sequence. The roll bar headrests Do Not do anything unless engaged from the dash switch though so that could prove me wrong.